top of page

About the Housing Authority

"To provide, maintain, and develop quality housing and neighborhoods to residents facing barriers."


The Housing Authority of Grant County was founded in the middle of World War II after the Grant County Board of Commissioners passed a resolution declaring a need for the agency.

With a start in the wartime housing industry, the Housing Authority secured financing in 1950 to build its first federally-funded Public Housing Project.

Over the years, more projects were built, and in 1977, 1,186 units of U.S. Air Force housing in the Larson Subdivision outside Moses Lake were purchased. This was a bold and innovative move that ultimately fostered affordable homeownership for several hundred county residents who bought homes from the Housing Authority and significantly expanded the local rental market.


In the next few years, continued innovation will be critical as federal support for Housing Authorities declines and state and local budgets try to recover from the first recession of the new millennium.

In recent years the Housing Authority has also taken on grants to provide emergency assistance to those experiencing homelessness. With these programs now in full swing, we are able to see people go from homelessness to being housed in affordable and permanent housing options. 

The Housing Authority of Grant County is committed to meeting these challenges by becoming more self-sufficient and creative in order to accomplish the goals of providing affordable housing, fostering homeownership and helping out communities grow. To do this we will need to engage new community partnerships and work even more closely with our stakeholders.

The Board of Commissioners and staff of our Housing Authority look to the future with confidence.

HAGC Staff

Carol Anderson

(509) 762-5541  x129

Executive Director

Melinda Hernandez

(509) 762-5541  x128

Occupancy Coordinator

Lizbeth Gutierrez

(509) 762-5541  x120

Public Housing Coordinator

Rosa Villa

(509) 762-5541  x154

Application Processor

Yesenia Martinez

(509) 762-5541  x117

HCV Coordinator

Amelia De Leon

(509) 762-5541  x121

Operations Foreman

Sheila Labelle

(509) 762-5541  x147


Ashley Castro

(509) 762-5541  x104

Accounts Receivable Coordinator

Maria Amezola

(509) 762-5541  x115


Ali Garcia

(509) 762-5541  x131

Accounts Receivable Coordinator

Ali Johnson

(509) 762-5541  x112

Asset Manager

Marissa Martinez

(509) 762-5541  x110

Administrative Coordinator

Steffanie Bonwell

(509) 762-5541  x126

Homeless Programs Manager

Veronica Sosa

(509) 762-5541  x118

Homeless Programs Coordinator

Nicole Cedillo

(509) 762-5541  x146

Homeless Programs Coordinator

Doug Larsen

(509) 762-5541  x127

Maintenance Manager

Ryan Hall

(509) 762-5541  x123

Maintenance Manager

Justin Laur

(509) 762-5541  x102


Board of Commissioners

The Housing Authority Board of Commissioners meets every third Monday of the month.   All meetings are open to the public.

Nikolas Bergman

Board Chairperson

Bob Bernd


Ann Mix


Philip Borck


Robert Schrom


Richard Stevens


bottom of page